I am an idiot

…Which is something I am taking full advantage of with this blog.

Monday, sitting on the couch, rested and lazy, it seemed like a perfectly reasonable thing to bike Zoo Hill on far-off Wednesday. This morning, I woke up, relaxed on the couch with my breakfast, and realizing I was supposed to be doing Zoo Hill, thought “what a stupid idea.” And then “but I wrote and put out in public that I would do it…”

So, instead of a lazy, relaxed morning, I biked from 80 feet above sea level to 1330 feet above sea level in 2.7 miles.  That hill hurts. It’s what curse words were invented for. Except you don’t have enough breath leftover to swear.

My one concession to being not-an-idiot was driving to Issaquah, instead of biking to Issaquah. Maybe one of these days I’ll be even more of an idiot and bike out there and do Zoo Hill twice, or something like that.

I know from past experience that I’m really good at thinking that something will be a good idea to do a few days from now–and getting there and realizing what a silly idea it is. The plan for the summer is to let my idiot self reign, and put my I-have-a-better-idea self on the back burner until after the trip to Italy.

At 1300ish feet. You may be able to keep Seattle riff-raff out of your gated community, but you can't keep us off your public roads! Of course, if you could, I wouldn't have had to climb all the *&#$^&* way up here...

At 1300ish feet. You may be able to keep Seattle riff-raff out of your gated community, but you can’t keep us off your public roads! Of course, if you could, I wouldn’t have had to climb all the *&#$^&* way up here…

 

Just 11 1/2 miles for the day–but some of those miles really counted for something.

2 thoughts on “I am an idiot

  1. Well done! I did 11.5 from home to work. 10 hours later I did 11.5 from work to home. Jealous of the trip to the Dolomites.

    • Being jealous is one possible reaction. Laughing and pointing is another… I’m halfway expecting the possibility that I will be puking over the side of a mountain in 34 degrees and rain for my birthday!

Leave a Reply

