Why am I doing this?

Today’s not a big riding day–bikewise, I’ll just tootle my way downhill to ballet class, and do a couple errands. But since I (and others) think this trip to Italy to suffer on my bicycle is a pretty insane thing to do, I thought I’d post some of why I have been wanting to do this for a while (hint: has nothing to do with masochistic tendencies, or desire to be miserable!)

The photos in this post are one of the reasons (and if you want to read words, his account of the trip and how much fun he had count too).

The Fat Cyclist’s multi-post account of a similar trip (French mountains instead of Italian) is another. If you’ve got some time, start with part 1 here.

Looking back down the climb up the Gavia. Photocredit to bikeforums.net user kimconyc

Looking back down the climb up the Gavia. Photo credit to bikeforums.net user kimconyc

From the Stelvio. Photo credit to bikeforum.net user kimconyc

From the Stelvio. Photo credit to bikeforum.net user kimconyc

Leave a Reply

