Vashon: Happy Magic Place of Pain

First off, does anyone on Vashon actually drive? Much of the time I was riding on empty, moss-covered roads, looking out for deer as they were the only other moving thing out there likely to hit me. At one point, a few cars went by me, and I started getting grumpy about all the traffic–as in, I spent about 15 seconds suffering through the noise and exhaust of internal combustion vehicles, and then it was over.

Anyway, today’s goal accomplished. Check. Done. I’m done. That was a fabulous ride, but really hard! My cycling computer never read higher than about 485 feet, but some of the hills on the island get to the top in a hurry. There were a couple in particular that were…Special. As in, I would turn a corner, let loose with some exotic vocabulary and start asking questions like “Really?!? Are you serious?!?”

At any rate, it was a difficult, but also pretty spectacular ride. As usual, some mediocre cell phone photos:

The photo really doesn't capture how precipitously the ground drops down--or going the other way, how steeply it goes up. Going around the corner at the bottom to see this hill looming was...exciting...

The photo really doesn’t capture how precipitously the ground drops down–or going the other way, how steeply it goes up. Going around the corner at the bottom to see this hill looming was…exciting…

WP_20140616_003

More views. Again. Natural beauty of the PNW and all that.

WP_20140616_006

The tide was pretty far out today. Also note, the smooth, glassy water–which means that the south wind of earlier has died down. Just when it would have been a tailwind. Of course.

By the time I got home, I could claim 86 miles on the day. And a ravenous appetite. The Vashon part of the ride was 51 miles with over 5,000 feet of climbing–that’s pretty hilly, in my book.

I had sketched out a circuit of the island that was more like 40 miles, and then my dad sent me a route he had drawn up, taking some inspiration from the Passport2Pain ride. I ended up adding a couple things to his route, and making the monster that I rode today. So for the record, my dad figures out a difficult route, but I’m the one to go ride it. I’ll let you decide who got the brains in the family.

Zoo Hill is really going to hurt tomorrow. Whee!

Leave a Reply

