EPIC!!!

It was perfect riding weather today, so after I got done teaching in the morning, and despite my sore, tired legs, I pulled my helmet on for for an epic ride! To Trader Joe’s. The one a mile from the house. So it was an epically short, epically wimp-out-on-my-training ride…

Courtesy Google Maps Streetview. This photo doesn't get way more awesome if you click to embiggen, but feel free.

Courtesy Google Maps Streetview. This photo doesn’t get way more awesome if you click to embiggen, but feel free.

To be fair, I did take the scenic way around, for 6.5 miles on the day, which is 6.5 more miles than the love affair between my ass and the couch voted for.

I have all sorts of excuses (students’ performances, scrubbed the kitchen floor in deep squats and lunges, teaching taking all my brain energy) but it basically boiled down to: I wasn’t feeling it, and after I post this, I think I’m going to lie down for a nap. As much as today’s epic ride is perhaps an epic training fail, if I didn’t have the prospect of a blog post about today’s ride looming over me, I likely wouldn’t have gotten out there at all.

And though my legs hurt just as much as they did before the grocery run, they’re less stiff. That’s a good thing, since I have a big ride on the calendar for tomorrow!

So, here we go, public accountability–I didn’t live up to my goal for today, though at least I did something, which is better than nothing. Let the heckling/encouragement/taskmastering start for tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

